Only You

I’m nearing my goal of 31 book reviews. It’s been a very interesting project to get my blog up and running, generate interest and traffic and learn the ins and outs of publishing my opinions on the internet. I’ve had a ton of fun doing it! And as a personal challenge, it’s been great to step outside of my normal book choices and really enjoy some stories I may not have tried otherwise. I appreciate all of the comments and suggestions- here and on Twitter. And while I won’t be reading any zombie-versus-alien-apocalypse series any time soon (despite unrelenting suggestions from my friend Martin), I have gotten to know many new authors with other titles that I can’t wait to read. So while I’m working on book #31 (and 32 on audiobook), I’m also working on my next goal for the blog. In the meantime, check out this weeks title.

Book #30 The One and Only, Emily Giffin

one and only Rating: 3- It was a good book.

Synopsis: Shea and Lucy are lifelong BFFs. Shea’s mom and Lucy’s mom and also BFF. Lucy’s dad is the football coach for Walker University, and Shea is possibly Walker’s biggest football fan. When Lucy’s mom dies from a long battle with cancer, their little family is rocked. Lucy turns her grief on Shea, criticizing her life choices from dead end job to pot head boyfriend. Coach gets in on the action, with a little more subtlety, buy giving Shea a pep talk and a contact for a job interview. He also advises her to stop wasting her time with the lame boyfriend. She has always looked up to Coach, so she readily takes his advice. She also follows Lucy’s instructions to keep an eye on Coach and help him in his grieving, since the two have a special bond over football.

Shea takes all of their advice; getting a job as a sports reporter covering Walker, stepping up her dating game in a relationship with a pro football quarterback, and spending more time with Coach. But as they spend more time together, Shea realizes that all her years of hero-worship have turned into a bit of a crush! And she begins to feel as if the feelings may be reciprocated… But how could they? And how would she tell her best friend that she is in love with her father?

My Impressions: I most definitely think that the author has written a very real female character here. Shea is both strong and vulnerable, self-aware and insecure and we meet her at place in her life where she searching for her grown-up identity.  The life struggles she faces are terribly relatable, and the moral challenges she encounters present choices that could change her life entirely. Her friendship with Lucy, as close as sisters, plays out just that way; no matter what is said or done, it’s forgiven and/or appreciated for it’s good intentions. I also liked the development of her relationships with her mother and father, separately, and the alteration of what she believes to be true about them. I think most adults have that happen in their lives at some point, and it either strengthens or separates a bond with parents. But then the story gets a little weird for me… I guess age doesn’t really play a huge part in relationships anymore, much like it didn’t in the era of Jane Austen. But Shea’s relationship with Coach is the one that I don’t find realistic and honest throughout the book. And it’s all a little George Michael- Father Figure for me!

Why you should read it: If you are a fan of Emily Giffin from her past books, you may find this book a bit of a departure from her usual stories, but consistent with her style. It’s still chick-lit, but not the traditional story line.

Read if you liked: Love the One You’re With (Emily Giffin), Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte), Friday Night Lights (H.G. Bissinger)

Book # 30 in the bag

“The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.” ― Jane Austen

Leave a Reply

